Impatient and Miserable

20626505_10213854292854408_4845672895289940376_o

37 weeks and 3 days.  Absolutely miserable. We had a baby doctor appointment today.  I am dilated to a 1 1/2, almost a 2.  She said I’m showing signs of labor, so she expects I will probably have her before my next doctor appointment, which is supposed to the Friday, the 18th.  We are 2 1/2 weeks from being 40 weeks, but she doesn’t think I will make it to 40 weeks.  I’m so excited.  I can’t wait to meet our baby girl.  All this pain I’m going through, I know it will all be worth it when she’s in my arms.  The nerves are getting bad, and I’m so anxious.  I’m trying to not think about it, and just let it happen when it happens, but it’s so hard to when I’m so impatient.

Dustin got a new job today, he starts tonight.  He’s still working thirds, just goes in a little bit earlier and gets off a little bit earlier.  But he will be right near home, so if I wind up going into labor while he’s at work, he will be able to come get me and take me to the hospital instead of me having to worry about someone else coming to get me and him not being there.

We wound up having to go to the hospital last Thursday night.  My contractions were 2 minutes apart for over 2 hours, so we went to the hospital.  While we were there, my contractions went to 1 minute apart.  They thought we were going to have her, but I didn’t dilate past a one.  The only thing that wound up happening was my cervix thinned out.  They gave me 2 bags of fluid in an iv, and just pretty much kept me comfortable.  Around 3:30, they let us go home because I wasn’t dilating and they said that I just needed to stay comfortable.

After the trip to the hospital, this weekend I went to both breastfeeding expos with my mother in law.  I’m glad I went because I was able to walk around a lot and get some exercise.  I learned so much.  It was so interesting, and seeing women nurse their children in front of everyone, seeing how comfortable they were and the way everyone had their own style was absolutely amazing.  It was inspiring.  I loved it.  I can’t wait to start my breastfeeding journey with Elizabeth.  I’m so glad I have such an amazing support group, too.

20663945_10213831673488938_7521723671055017204_n

Elizabeth’s car seat is installed in our car.  Stroller is in our trunk.  Hospital bags and diaper bag are in the car.  Her bedroom is cleaned and ready.  Random changing places around the house are set up, and her sleeping area in our room is done.  I’ve been nesting like crazy.  But I can’t clean a lot anymore because I can barely get around without being in a lot of pain.

Who all is excited, anxious, and super impatient for their little one to arrive?  I feel like I’m going crazy.

 

BNH

Leave a Reply

