Mothering is Ministry

4 weeks left until we get to hold our baby girl, unless she decides to come early. Which at this rate, that may just be a possibility. We went to the baby doctor today and everything is still going great. Her heart rate is in the 130s still, my blood pressure is perfect, weight gain is perfect. I’m 35 weeks, and she’s measuring 36 weeks. We wound up having to be sent to the hospital after the doctor appointment because baby girl wasn’t moving as much as she normally does, but all is well. She looked great on the monitor and was perfect for the ultrasound. We got to see our baby girl’s face, and she is oh so perfect. We go every week now to the doctor, instead of every two.
Now since I have told you about the doctor appointment, I’ll catch you up on the pregnancy feels I’ve been having. I’ve been super emotional lately, and in a lot of pain. I can’t stand up longer than 10-15 minutes without both of my legs going numb. I am so hot constantly that I can barely do anything. This Tennessee heat is ridiculous right now, and it doesn’t help that our house only has window a/c units. Most of the time now I stay inside, and just watch tv or read, since it’s hard to do much of anything else.
Sunday, the 23rd, I turned 23. It was a pretty good day. It was super pretty outside, and I got to spend the day with Dustin, and my family. We also got to see his mom, sister, and nephew. We went to church then my parents and brother took us out to eat to Mexican. I couldn’t eat much, baby girl was kicking at my rib cage and making me not really want to eat, but it was still really good, and we had a great time. Dustin and I watched a movie on Netflix that night before falling asleep. We used to have movie nights all the time, but since he works nights now, it’s hard to do that. It made me so happy to be able to just relax in his arms and watch a movie. Then Monday, we went to Shoney’s for breakfast for my birthday, then walked a trail at the park. I was very proud of myself for walking the trail, and I was still feeling pretty good afterwards.
As you all know, I’ve been doing a lot of Bible study lately. Yesterday as I was doing the Bible study for our Sunday school lesson, I came across in my Bible some cool verses and information about breastfeeding. (Dustin bought me an awesome women’s study Bible for my wedding present when we got married).
-Breastfeeding is regarded as a satisfying bonding period between mother and child. Isaiah 66:11 “That you may feed and be satisfied with the consolation of her bosom. That you may drink deeply and be delighted with the abundance of her glory.”
-Breastfeeding requires a special commitment on the part of a mother to her child. Isaiah 49:15 “Can a woman forget her nursing child, and not have compassion on the son of her womb? Surely they may forget, Yet I will not forget you.”
-Weaning of the child-usually by the age of three-was an occasion for celebration, a milestone in the child’s life. (Genesis 21:8) “So the child grew and was weaned. And Abraham made a great feast on the same day that Isaac was weaned.” It was after weaning that a child was expected to receive the teaching of knowledge and doctrine. (Isaiah 28:9) “Whom will he teach knowledge? And whom will he make to understand the message? Those just weaned from milk? Those just drawn from the breast?”
-Breastfeeding was believed by many to be a natural , though not absolute, method of birth control since during the postpartum period, nursing tends to suppress a woman’s ovulation.
Also in my Bible, in the book of Isaiah, there is a little note that caught my attention. I am copying it straight out of my bible. I have a NKJ Women’s Study Bible, like I mentioned before.
More than a job or responsibility, mothering is ministry. Most assuredly it takes work. It means sacrifice. Children to not come off an assembly line , nor are they the by-product of an impersonal biological process: they are to be lovingly nurtured by their mothers(2 Timothy 1:3-5) Mothers divide time among their children but multiply their love for all their children. To this they add the care of the home, often subtracting many extras in order to do so. When Isaiah the prophet searched for an illustration of God’s constant love for His people, the best example he could find was a new baby’s mother(Isaiah 49:15). Mothers have enduring love that even the most trying circumstances or rebellious child cannot dim. As a mother lets go of her own life for the sake of her child, she is reminded of the depth and height and breadth of God’s love for her, and in a unique way she experiences the true joy of motherhood. This is a truth that will transform any suffering or sacrifice into reward and joy(1 John 3:16). God has a plan for mothers(Exodus 2:1-10). The high calling is an all-consuming task: in the morning, you can read God’s word to your child; at mealtime you are to give attention to meeting physical needs; as you are outside, you can teach your child about the beauty of creation; at bedtime you can pray for your child and give assurance. The reward is worth the effort.
Godly mothers are the nation’s greatest treasure, the Lord’s best helpers, and the most blessed among women.

I know that this blog has been a lot to read this time, but I have had a lot on my mind the past couple of weeks, and that passage just really got to me on breastfeeding and motherhood. I hope you all enjoyed it as much as I did, and do. God has blessed me with so much, and I thank him everyday for everything he has done for me and my family. Thanks to everyone who took the time to read this, and please comment what you think.

BNH

Leave a Reply

