Raising Batgirl

31 weeks and 5 days into my first pregnancy.  Now things are getting tough.  Tougher than the beginning.  Middle of the second trimester it became easier, the sickness went away, I had so much more energy.  But now it’s slowly going away.  My energy dwindles day by day.  I’m still able to eat good.  My back hurts all the time, I can barely get out of bed in the mornings.  I get headaches super easily.  That’s what’s hard on me.  Anyone who knows me, knows that I am absolutely obsessed with reading.  Right now, when I read too long in one setting, my head starts hurting and my eyes start burning.  It’s such a depressing thing for me.

We had our baby doctor appointment today.  Blood pressure is perfect, my weight gain is perfect.  Her heart rate is now in the 130s, so it’s slowing down just a tad bit.  I’m measuring exactly 31 cm.  The only thing we are concerned about now is being able to do a normal vaginal delivery.  Reason being, I am 4’10” and Dustin is 6’4″.  When I was born, I weighed 8 pounds 4 ounce.  She’s concerned about that.  With me being so small, she wants me to completely cut out all sugar from my diet, so we can hopefully make sure that Elizabeth doesn’t get too big to where I can’t have a vaginal delivery.  I don’t care to have a caesarian section, but I don’t want to have to go through one if it can be avoided.  With Dustin working thirds and that being our only source of income right now, I don’t want to have to go through a C-section and have more of a recovery period.  Also, I really want to experience a vaginal labor.  So as of now, we’re thinking I may not be able to carry the full 40 weeks.  So I’m a mix bundle of emotions right now.

I just started my new breastfeeding book.  Ina May’s Guide To Breastfeeding.  I just finished the prologue, and I am already hooked and ready to learn as much as I can.  I know I just started, but I do highly recommend any soon to be mom that is thinking about breastfeeding to buy this book off of Amazon.  Right now, it’s only a little over $8, and I’d say it’s worth it.  I also have amazon prime right now, so I had two day free shipping.

We’re also having to decide on birth control, because we’re wanting to wait at least a year before we decide to start trying to conceive again.  My baby doctor recommended the copper IUD because it contains no hormones, and as soon as it’s removed, you can start trying to conceive that day.  I’m thinking that’s the one I want to decide on, but if anyone has any recommendations, please feel free to let me know.  I would love all the information I can get.  It seems like now since I’ve been pregnant, all I’ve been doing is researching stuff.

I know this was a shorter post than usual, but I’m still getting the hang of writing a blog.  I’m really enjoying it, I just need to get more followers.  I would love to hear what people want to read about, and what everyone thinks about what I have wrote about so far.

BNH.

2 thoughts on “Raising Batgirl

Leave a Reply

